Red Scarf Girl-A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

* denotes mandatory fields

Paperback
$5.60
6-Pack
$35.96
Purchase notes for

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl’s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. 

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.

Product Features & Resources

More Information
More Information
Product # 56661-G
ISBN-13 9780064462082
ISBN-10 0064462080
Author Ji-li Jiang
Grade Level 3-7
Interest Level 5-12
Fiction/Nonfiction Nonfiction
Guided Reading Level Z
Lexile Level 780
Publisher HarperCollins
BOM Count 0
Multicultural Chinese